CFN: CWPA Award for Outstanding Scholarship on Writing Program Administration

Note: This award is for article-length works published **outside** of the WPA: *Writing Program Administration*.

The **CWPA Outstanding Scholarship Award** calls attention to the range and depth of scholarly work being done on writing program administration broadly understood across various publication venues outside of *WPA: Writing Program Administration*. This award recognizes an outstanding article-length work published in a peer-reviewed edited collection or any refereed journal other than *WPA: Writing Program Administration*. This award recognizes the intellectual work of writing program administrators.

We encourage scholarship that meets most or all of the following criteria:

- Uses an informed methodological, theoretical, or pedagogical perspective to present new knowledge about writing programs, writing program administration, and/or writing processes and theories relevant to WPAs;
- 2. Explores issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion, engages with interrogating power structures and privilege, or addresses issues of relevance to diverse institutional and research contexts;
- 3. Takes a generative stance that suggests ways of thinking that WPAs may use to build on or transform the ideas presented;
- 4. Employs empirical, observational, or theoretical evidence that illustrates real and current practices in writing programs and in institutions;
- 5. Speaks to the potential for replication or application in other professional or institutional contexts.

This committee will recognize two article-length works this cycle: one article-length work published in 2021 and another article-length work published in 2022. Works published in any refereed journal or peer-reviewed edited collection are eligible (copyright date, not publication date, must be 2021 or 2022). To nominate or self-nominate a text, please send the following attachments to Jacob Babb at babbjs@appstate.edu no later than February 29, 2024:

A PDF of the text, or a link to where it may be found online, in the case of a web publication;
 A brief statement (one page or less) that addresses how the text meets the criteria listed above;
 Contact information (if known) for the author/s of the text nominated for consideration.

Inquiries can be directed to Jacob, and self-nominations are welcome and encouraged.

The winner(s) will be announced in July 2024.

Members of the award committee are as follows:

Jacob Babb (Chair), Appalachian State University, <u>babbjs@appstate.edu</u>

Holly Anderson, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, <a href="mailto:anderson">ande2898@uwm.edu</a>
Kelly Blewett, Indiana University East, <a href="mailto:keblewet@iu.edu">keblewet@iu.edu</a>
Ginny Crisco, California State University, Fresno, <a href="mailto:vcrisco@csufresno.edu">vcrisco@csufresno.edu</a>
Fangzhi He, Davidson College, <a href="mailto:fahe@davidson.edu">fahe@davidson.edu</a>
Wendy Hinshaw, Florida Atlantic University, <a href="mailto:whinshaw@fau.edu">whinshaw@fau.edu</a>
Adam Phillips, University of South Florida, <a href="mailto:aphillipso919@yahoo.com">aphillipso919@yahoo.com</a>
Rachel Robinson-Zetzer, Fairfield University, <a href="mailto:rrobinson-zetzer@fairfield.edu">rrobinson-zetzer@fairfield.edu</a>
Ashley Yuckenberg, George Mason University, <a href="mailto:amcclel2@gmu.edu">amcclel2@gmu.edu</a>